This page contains a listing of all the African heads of state. Each entry shows the title of the main leader(s) of each country, a phonetic spelling for the leaders' names, and a the country name is a hyperlink to an audio file of the correct pronunciation of the country. Please also see African Place Name Pronunciation Guide for assistance with place names.

African Leaders Pronunciation Guide					
Country	Leader's Title	Leader's Full Name	Phonetic Spelling		
Algeria	President	Abdelaziz Bouteflika	President BOO-tah- FLEE-kah		
Angola	President	Jose Eduardo Dos Santos	President doh SAHN- tosh		
Benin	President	Thomas Yayi Boni	President YAH-yee		
Botswana	President	Seretse Khama Ian Khama	President KAH-mah		
	Vice President	Mompati Merafhe	Vice President MEHR- ah-fee		
Burkina Faso	President	Blaise Compaore	President kohm-POH- ray		
	Prime Minister	Tertius Zongo	Prime Minister zahn- GOH		
Burundi	President	Pierre Nkurunziza	President nn-kuhr-uhn- ZEE-zah		
	First Vice President	Yves Sahinguvu	Vice President Sahinguvu		
	Second Vice President	Gabriel Ntisezerana	Vice President en-tih- sez-er-AH-nah		
Cameroon	President	Paul Biya	President BEE-yah		
	Prime Minister	Philemon Yang	Prime Minister Yang		
Cape Verde	President	Pedro Verona Rodriques Pires	President PIHR-esh		
	Prime Minister	Jose Maria Pereira Neves	Prime Minister NEH- vesh		
Central African Republic	President	Francois Bozize	President BOH-zee- say		
	Prime Minister	Faustin-Archange Touadera	Prime Minister twah- DEH-rah		
Chad	President	Lt. Gen Idriss Deby Itno	President deh-BEE		
Comoros	President	Ahmed Abdallah Sambi	President SAHM-bee		
Democratic Republic of Congo	President	Joseph Kabila	President kah-BEEL- ah		
	Prime Minister	Adolphe Muzito	Prime Minister moo- ZEE-tow		

Republic of Congo- Brazzaville	President	Denis Sassou-Nguesso	President sah-SOO
Cote d'Ivoire	President	Laurent Gbagbo	President BAG-boh
	Prime Minister	Guillaume Soro	Prime Minister soh- ROH
Djibouti	President	Ismail Omar Guelleh	President GEHL-ay
Egypt	President	Mohamed Hosni Mubarak	President moo-BAHR- ahk
	Prime Minister	Ahmed Mohamed Nazif	Prime Minister nah- ZEEF
Equatorial Guinea	President	Brig Gen (Ret) Teodoro Obiang Nguema Mbasogo	President OH-bee-ong
Eritrea	President	Isaias Afworki	President eye-SIGH- ihs
Ethiopia	Prime Minister	Meles Zenawi	Prime Minister MEHL- ess
Gabon	President	Ali Ben Bongo Ondimba	President BOHN-go
THE Gambia	President	Yahya Jammeh	President JAH-may
Ghana	President	John Evans Atta Mills	President Mills
Guinea	[1]	Gen Sekouba Konate	General koh-NAH-teh
	Prime Minister ^[2]	Jean-Marie Dore	Prime Minister doh- RAY
	President-elect ^[3]	Alpha Conde	con-DAY
Guinea Bissau	President	Malam Bacai Sanha	President SAHN-ha
	Prime Minister	Carlos Gomes Junior	Prime Minister GOH- mez
Kenya	President	Mwai Kibaki	President kee-BAH- kee
	Vice President	Stephen Kalonzo Musyoka	Vice President muss- YOKE-ah
Lesotho	King (chief of state)	Letsie III	King LEHT-see III
	Prime Minister (Head of government)	Pakalitha Mosisili	Prime Minister moh- see-SEE-dee
Liberia	President	Ellen Johnson-Sirleaf	President Johnson Sirleaf
Libya	Revolutionary Leader ^[4]	Col Muammar Abu Minyar al Qadhafi	Colonel gah-DAH-fee
	Prime Minister ^[5]	al-Baghdadi Ali al-Mahmudi	Secretary al-MAH- moo-dee
Madagascar	President ^[6]	Andry Rajoelina	President rah-ZHOW- leen
Malawi	President	Bingu Wa Mutharika	President moo-TAHR- ee-kah

Mali	President	Amadou Toumani Toure	President too-RAY
	Prime Minister	Modibo Sidibe	Prime Minister SEE- dee-bay
Mauritania	President	Mohamed Ould Abdel Aziz	President ah-ZEES
Mauritius	Prime Minister	Navinchandra Ramgoolam	Prime Minister rahm- GOO-lahm
Могоссо	King (chief of state)	Mohammed VI	King muh-HUHM-med VI
	Prime Minister (head of government)	Abbas El Fassi	Prime Minister el FAH- see
Mozambique	President	Armando Guebuza	President gay-BOO- zah
Namibia	President	Hifikepunye Pohamba	President poh-HAHM- bah
	Prime Minister	Nahas Angula	Prime Minister ahn- GOO-lah
Niger	"President" ^[7]	Salou Djibo ^[8]	JEE-bow
	Prime Minister	Mahamadou Danda ^[9]	DAHN-da
Nigeria	President	Goodluck Jonathan	President Jonathan
Rwanda	President	Paul Kagame	President kah-GAH- may
	Prime Minister	Bernard Makuza	Prime Minister mah- KOO-zah
Sao Tome and Principe	President	Fradique Bandiera Melo De Menezes	President dah-meh- NEH-zehsh
Senegal	President	Abdoulaye Wade	President WAHD
	Prime Minister	Soulayemane Ndene Ndiaye	Prime Minister en-DAY
Seychelles	President	James Alix Michel	President mee-SHELL
Sierra Leone	President	Ernest Bai Koroma	President koh-ROH- mah
Somalia ^[10]	TFG President	Sheikh Sharif Sheikh Ahmed	President shah-REEF
	Prime Minister	Omar Abdirashid Ali Sharmarke	Prime Minister shar- MAR-keh
South Africa	President	Jacob Zuma	President ZOO-ma
	Executive Deputy President	Kgalema Motlanthe	Deputy President moht-LAHN-teh
Sudan	President	Umar Hassan Ahmad al-Bashir	President bah-SHEER
Swaziland	King (chief of state)	Mswati III	King mm-SWAH-tee III
Tanzania	President	Jakaya Kikwete	President kee-KWEH- tay
Тодо	President	Faure Gnassingbe	President nyah-SING- bay
	Prime Minister	Gilbert Houngbo	Prime Minister HOON-

			boh
Tunisia	President	Zine el Abidine Ben Ali	President ben AH-lee
Uganda	President	Yoweri Kaguta Museveni	President moo-SEH- veh-nee
Zambia	President	Rupiah Banda	President BAN-duh
Zimbabwe	President	Robert Gabriel Mugabe	President moo-GAH- bay
	Prime Minister	Morgagn Tsvangirai	Prime Minister CHANG-uh-rye

Last updated on 16 November 2010

- ↑ Gen Sekouba KONATE, interim leader of the National Council for Democracy and Development, replaced Capt. CAMARA following the attempted assassination of CAMARA on 3 December 2009.
- 2. ↑ Prime Minister of the Transitional Government since 26 January 2010.
- Conde was declared the winner of a presidential runoff vote with Cellou Diallo on 16 November.
- 4. ↑ Holds no official title, but is defacto chief of state.
- 5. ↑ The full title is Secretary of the General People's Committee.
- 6. ↑ On 17 March 2009, democratically elected President Marc RAVALOMANANA stepped down handing the government over to the military, which in turn conferred the presidency on opposition leader and Antananarivo mayor Andry RAJOELINA, who will head the High Transition Authority; a power-sharing agreement reached in August 2009 established a 15-month transition period, concluding in general elections in 2010; as of December 2009 the agreement had not been fully implemented.
- 7. ↑ Chairman of the Supreme Council for the Restoration of Democracy
- ↑ leader of the military coup that deposed President Mamadou TANDJA on 18 February 2010.
- 9. ↑ (since 19 February 2010) Appointed by the president and shares some executive responsibilities with the president.
- 10.↑ No permanent national government; transitional, parliamentary federal government.